• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

My wife just asked for a divorce, what happens to the 500k+ in the account?

This is for reference only and not meant as any form of action or recommendation.They are only my thoughts as I am no lawyer maybe this will help as you research the situation.... that said..... assuming it is a tax deferred account. The answer is it depends on the account but probably yes . How it is done depends on a lot of things are retired, working etc and etc. Your provides the best council given the account. Do nothing with the funds without the advise of your lawyer. Even if you work things out you need a lawyer now. That is my best recommendation.

I am sorry this is happening to you and I know it is traumatic .

No couple ever starts out to have this happen and I may not be appropriate but I hope you can work it out. I don't know your circumstance and am not a counselor but a lot of people have found that this decision made in haste is a bad one after the divorce is settled. So if you still love your wife I would encourage you to make an extra effort to reconcile before it is to late.

The answer in my opinion is yes ,,,,,,read IRC 408 (d) (6) as it will pursuant to that statue.... then go to Fidelity as they have specific wording they require.in the decree for the IRS and Fidelity. It must be written directly into the divorce decree following IRC 408 (d) (6) and as Fidelity specifies. Do nothing with the funds before the divorce and consult with your lawyer. and make sure it is written properly in the decree..